The CEEMC has been very lucky with the calibre of its presidents and judicial panel throughout the years.

Below you will find details of some of our regular members.

1. Presidents of the CEEMC panel 1994-2017

Advocate General Eleanor Sharpston

Eleanor V. E. Sharpston, QC (born 1955) Advocate General at the Court of Justice of the European Union.

The British Advocate General at the Court of Justice of the European Communities since January 10, 2006, Eleanor Sharpston QC studied economics, languages and law at King’s College, Cambridge (1973-77), followed by university teaching and research at Corpus Christi College, Oxford (1977-80). She was called to the Bar by the Middle Temple in 1980 and was a barrister in private practice from 1980-87 and 1990-2005 Queen's Counsel: 1999; Bencher of Middle Temple (2005). In the intervening years she worked as Legal Secretary (referendaire) in the Chambers of Advocate General, subsequently Judge, Sir Gordon Slynn later Lord Slynn of Hadley (1987-90). She was also a Lecturer in EC and comparative law (Director of European Legal Studies) at University College London (1990-92) and then a Lecturer in the Faculty of Law (1992-98), and subsequently Affiliated Lecturer (1998-2005), at the University of Cambridge. She was Senior Research Fellow at the Centre for European Legal Studies of the University of Cambridge (1998-2005) and remains a fellow of King’s College, Cambridge (since 1992).

Lord Slynn of Hadley

Lord Slynn was a staunch supporter of the CEEMC chairing the judicial panel for 13 years of the competition and was a great inspiration to teams and individual competitors. He is sadly missed by us all and in his memory a best speaker's prize will be named in honour of his legacy from 2010 with the first award to be presented by Lady Odile Slynn. Lord Slynn was appointed a Lord of Appeal in Ordinary in 1992, becoming a life peer as Baron Slynn of Hadley, of Eggington in the County of Bedfordshire, and being sworn of the Privy Council. He was a dissenter in the case R v. Brown, which upheld the legality of the criminal convictions resulting from Operation Spanner.[1] As a member of the House of Lords, he has served as Chairman of the House of Lords Select Sub-Committee on European Law and Institutions (1992–95), and as a member of the House of Lords Select Committee on Public Service (1996–98) and the Joint Parliamentary Committee on Corruption Bill (2003). He retired from his judicial role in 2002, but maintained his seat. He was appointed President of the Court of Appeal of the Solomon Islands in 2001 and was life President of the Lord Slynn of Hadley European Law Foundation and President of the Civil Mediation Council

2. European Union Institutions

Judge Jan Passer

Judge - General Court of the EU Judge Passer has been a judge at the General Court of the EU since 2016. He graduated in law from Charles University, Prague, obtaining a Master of Laws from the University of Stockholm (2000); Doctor of Laws (2007). He was a Judge at the Supreme Administrative Court of the Czech Republic from 2005-2016.

Advocate General Michal Bobek

Advocate General at the Court of Justice to the EU

Michal is the current Advocate General of the Czech republic to the Court of Justice. He was formerly professor of law at College of Europe in Bruges. He is a BLC  distinction graduate and was a member of a CEEMC mooting team himself in 2003.

Catherine Howdle

Deputy Director of the Legal Department - EFTA Surveillance Authority

Current Deputy Head of the Legal Department of the EFTA Surveillance Authority. Cath was formerly referendaire in the Cabinet of Eleanor Sharpston AG at the Court of Justice of the EU.  

Judge Alexander Kornezov

Judge at the General Court of the EU Judge at the General Court of the EU since 2016. Alexander was a referendaire in the cabinet of the Bulgarian Judge to the Court of Justice of the EU, Judge Arabadjiev. He has been a judge at CEEMC since 2008.

Carsten Zatschler

Head of Legal Department - EFTA

Head of the Legal Department of EFTA Courts, formerly Senior Legal Secretary in cabinet of UK Judge to the Court of Justice, Christopher Vajda and Judge Konrad Schiemann. CEEMC judge since 2004.

3. University of Cambridge - CELS

Prof Richard Fentimen

Head of the Faculty of Law of the University of Cambridge  Richard Fentiman is Professor of Private International Law at the University of Cambridge, where he is currently the chairman of the Faculty of Law.

Prof. Catherine Barnard

Director Centre of European Legal Studies, University of Cambridge

Catherine BarnardM.A. (Cantab.), LL.M. (EUI); PhD. (Cantab)is Professor of European Union law at the University of Cambridge; Co-director of CELS; holder of Jean Monnet Chair of EU Lawand a fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge. Previously (1992-1995) she was lecturer in law at the University of Southampton and Jean Monnet Chair of European Integration. She was also Assistant Dean at Southampton. She specialises in EC Law, Labour and Discrimination Law.

Prof. W. R. Cornish

Emeritus Herschel Smith Professor of Intellectual Property Law

A director of Juris Angliae Scientia,Professor Bill Cornish originally from Adelaide, was a postgraduate at Oxford - one of the first group of British Commonwealth scholars in 1960. He was side-tracked from a return to Australia by a post in the Law Department at the LSE. Until moving to Cambridge in 1990, he spent most of his teaching life there; he went to Queen Mary College in 1968 but returned to the LSE to take up the Chair of English Law in 1970. On arriving in Cambridge, he became the first Director of the Law Faculty’s Centre for European Legal Studies. For that centre he directs a course in English and EU law, which is taught at Warsaw University and is now being extended to other law faculties in Central and Eastern Europe. Professor Cornish became a Fellow of the British Academy in 1984 and is an External Academic Member of the Max-Planck Institute for Intellectual Property Law, Munich. In 1997 he was made an Honorary Queen's Counsel.

Dr. Jonathan Morgan

Lecturer, Oxford University

Fellow and Director of Studies at Corpus Christi Colege University of Cambridge where he lectures on tort law. Director of managing charity and former tutor of the British Law Centre

4. Law firms

Nick Fletcher

Former Partner in Clifford Chance and CEEMC judge since 1998

Career: Joined Clifford Chance, London 1985; solicitor, England and Wales 1987; assistant in corporate practice 1987-94; Warsaw office 1994; managing partner from 1998- 2009.

5. Other UK or European Union universities

Prof. Marise Cremona

Professor Of European Union law - EUI

Co-director of the Academy of European Law, European University Institute Florence. Formerly Professor of European Commercial Law, Centre for Commercial Law Studies, Queen Mary, University of London.

Prof. Rosa Greaves

University of Glasgow

Head of School of Law and Professor of European Union law, University of Glasgow,specialist in European commercial law.